More from Motoring

The Rally of Arunachal 2023 was hosted by JK Tyre, in sync with the Orange Festival of Music from December 14 to 16. Flagged off by Pema Khandu, Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh, a total of 28 teams took part in the TSD rally. About 400 km long, the course navigated through the districts of Lohit, Lower Dibang Valley, Dibang Valley, and Namsai. This was the first time that a TSD rally was held in Arunachal Pradesh, with strong participation from Army wives while their husbands acting as co-drivers.

The Rally Of Arunachal was held in three different categories, with Neeraj Kumar and co-driver Ashish Deshwal winning the overall sub-event, while Amrinder Singh and co-driver finished second. Major Jaya Mehta and co-driver Gulshan Mehta finished third in this category, but secured the winner’s spot in the all-women’s category, followed by Amandeep Kaur and co-driver Jyoti Yadav finishing second. The Outstanding Army Cup was once again won by Neeraj Kumar and co-driver Ashish Deshwal.

Participants at the JK Tyre Rally of Arunachal 2023

Participants also took time to slow down and take in the environment around them, by visiting the Dibang Wildlife Sanctuary, which has been in the news for the discovery of a new species of the flying squirrel. The rally eventually culminated alongside the banks of River Teang in Namsai.