More from Motoring

The time has come, when automotive experts from various publications get together to judge some of the best set of wheels in the country. The jury’s job becomes a lot harder, especially when having to choose from the list of deserving candidates. However, the best ones eventually do win, and so we have the winners of the ICOTY and IMOTY awards across all categories.

Starting with the Indian Car Of The Year; the Hyundai Exter, which faced quite the tough battle in its category, facing competition from the likes of the Maruti Suzuki Jimny, Citroen C3 Aircross, Honda Elevate, Toyota Innova Hycross, MG Comet, Hyundai Verna, and the Mahindra XUV400. However, the Exter ended up winning the ICOTY 2024, with the Jimny coming in as the first runner-up, while the second runner-up was tied between the Honda Elevate and the Toyota Innova Hycross.

The BMW 7 Series won the Premium Car Of The Year 2024 ahead of its smaller sibling, and the Mercedes-Benz GLC

The BMW 7 Series won the Premium Car Of The Year 2024, ahead of the Mercedes-Benz GLC, and the smaller sibling of the 7 Series, the X1. There were also other interesting candidates as well, such as the Range Rover Sport, the Volvo C40 Recharge, Lexus LX 500d, Hyundai Ioniq 5, and the Lexus RX 350h.

Hyundai’s second award of the evening was the Green Car Of The Year 2024 with the Ioniq 5

The Hyundai Ioniq 5 was also a contender for the Green Car Of The Year 2024, winning it ahead of the second runner-up, the MG Comet, and the BMW i7, the first runner-up. The other candidates in this category include the Citroen eC3, Mercedes-Benz EQE, Mahindra XUV400, Volvo C40 Recharge, and the BYD Atto 3.

The Royal Enfield Himalayan edged past the 390 Duke and the Scrambler 400 X

Moving on to two-wheels now; this was a hotly-contested space as well, with a bunch of very interesting candidates, such as the KTM 390 Duke, Triumph Scrambler 400 X, Hero Karizma XMR, Harley-Davidson X 440, the Royal Enfield Super Meteor 650, and the new Himalayan. The Royal Enfield Himalayan ended up winning the IMOTY 2024, while the KTM 390 Duke and the Triumph Scrambler 400 X were the runners-up in this category.

The ICOTY and the IMOTY awards are the most prestigious automotive awards in the country, and they have been hosted by JK Tyre ever since the inception of both categories back in 2005 and 2007 respectively. The awards were presented by Dr. Raghupati Singhania, Chairman & Managing Director, JK Tyre & Industries, together with the esteemed jury members, which included experts from various publications.

The jury members for the ICOTY 2024 included Yogendra Pratap and Rahul Ghosh from Auto Today, Dhruv Behl and Ishan Raghava from AutoX, Aspi Bhathena and Jim Gorde from Car India magazine, Sirish Chandran and Aatish Mishra from evo India, our very own Pablo Chaterji and Kartik Ware,  Bertrand D’Souza and Bob Rupani from Overdrive, Arpit Mahendra from TOI Auto, Vikrant Singh from Carwale, Kushan Mitra from The Print, Ameya Dandekar from Cardekho, Abhay Verma from Turbocharged, and Cyrus Dhabhar from Powerdrift.

Meanwhile the jury members for the IMOTY 2024 included Rahul Ghosh and Dipayan Dutta from Auto Today, Shivank Bhatt and Manav Sinha from AutoX, Aspi Bhathena and Joshua Varghese from Bike India, Sirish Chandran and Aatish Mishra from evo India, Bertrand Dsouza and Rohit Paradkar from Overdrive, Abhay Verma from Turbocharged, Pratheek Kunder from Bikewale, Varun Painter from Powerdrift, and last but not the least, Kartik Ware and Manaal Mahatme representing us.